Volunteer of the Year Award

The Junior League of Monroe is fortunate to have incredible volunteers who are committed to our mission of advancing women’s leadership for meaningful community impact through volunteer action, collaboration, and training. Every year, we recognize that year’s outstanding volunteer at our Annual Spring Dinner Meeting.

This award is based on recommendations by fellow members for the woman that they feel deserves this award. All nominees must be a volunteer who:

  • Is in good standing and has fulfilled all requirements of JLM Active Status
  • Demonstrates outstanding performance and visibility within the League
  • Of secondary and less importance, is her involvement in and commitment to organizations outside of the League
  • A member who has demonstrated the principles expressed in JLM’s mission and vision statements; her spirit and nature should reflect a positive image of JLM
  • Whose performance should exceed the expectations of general membership with unsurpassed interest in volunteerism and a commitment to community service

The nominees are reviewed and the selection is made by the Executive Board.

Former Recipients of the Volunteer of the Year Award:

2011       Carmen Parks

2012      Miranda Moss

2013       Mandy Green

2014       Laura Nickelson

2015       Cherry Coon

2016       Loretta Lemoine

2017       Allison Earl

2018      Heather Guillot

2019      Suhan Wallace

2020     Melinda Minniefield

2021      Cydni Hanks

2022     Lauren Smalley

2023     Avery Dabbs